Sales | Support:1-888-96LINUX

1.0.3-1 Release Notes

 

The 1.0.3-1 release contains the following changes:

Memory Limit Exclude for Apache and MySQL:

This version has a new cpud that will exclude any mysql or apache processes from the memory_limit restrictions parameter.

New MySQL versions:

This release includes new BetterLinux versions of MySQL 5.5.32 and MySQL 5.1.69

Blstat:

Added more accurate accounting of processes assigned to jail cores.

Kernel version:

Latest CentOS Kernel 2.6.32-358.14.1.el6 - Includes CVE-2013-2224 kernel patch.

cpud:

Jail sizing improvements.

Bandwidth Limiting:

Performance enhancements related to loading and unloading of tc rules.

iothrottled:

Disk utlization precent evaluatoin improvements.

 

--------------------/


Changelog for BetterLinux Release 1.0.3-1


NON-CPANEL:


BETTERLINUX-KERNEL

authorJerry James
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 15:15:41 +0000 (09:15 -0600)
committerJerry James
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 15:15:41 +0000 (09:15 -0600)

Adapt CentOS 6.4 kernel patches to 2.6.32-358.14.1.

BETTERLINUX-INSTALLER

authorFred Clift
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 16:56:37 +0000 (10:56 -0600)
committerFred Clift
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 16:56:37 +0000 (10:56 -0600)

Bump rev. Improved installation instructions and clarifications.

authorFred Clift
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 16:56:01 +0000 (10:56 -0600)
committerFred Clift
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 16:56:01 +0000 (10:56 -0600)

Require 25mbit minimum for bw limiting, if they enable it

BETTERLINUX-BLSTAT

authorAndrea Righi
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 16:45:31 +0000 (18:45 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 16:45:31 +0000 (18:45 +0200)

update package version to 0.60

authorAndrea Righi
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 16:42:14 +0000 (18:42 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 16:42:14 +0000 (18:42 +0200)

cpud: get the cores used by a jailed task directly from procfs

authorFred Clift
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 19:42:59 +0000 (13:42 -0600)
committerFred Clift
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 19:42:59 +0000 (13:42 -0600)

simple fix for CPU screen

authorAndrea Righi
Fri, 5 Jul 2013 20:29:50 +0000 (22:29 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Fri, 5 Jul 2013 20:30:03 +0000 (22:30 +0200)

cpud: be sure to show only pids that are actually running in the jail

CPUD

authorDavid
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 21:35:55 +0000 (15:35 -0600)
committerDavid
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 21:35:55 +0000 (15:35 -0600)

Fix "User in Jail" log message so the "rc" values are correct.

authorDavid
Mon, 8 Jul 2013 20:36:15 +0000 (14:36 -0600)
committerDavid
Mon, 8 Jul 2013 20:36:15 +0000 (14:36 -0600)

Reduce jail size by 1 core at a time rather than by mutilple cores.

authorDavid
Mon, 8 Jul 2013 18:02:09 +0000 (12:02 -0600)
committerDavid
Mon, 8 Jul 2013 18:02:09 +0000 (12:02 -0600)

Merge branch 'master' of git.betterlinuxtesting.com:/git/central/cpud

authorJerry James
Wed, 3 Jul 2013 18:17:23 +0000 (12:17 -0600)
committerJerry James
Wed, 3 Jul 2013 18:17:23 +0000 (12:17 -0600)

Make cpud reports versions of the form 1.0.2-1, instead of 1.0.2. Requested by Matt.

authorDavid
Tue, 2 Jul 2013 20:01:00 +0000 (14:01 -0600)
committerDavid
Tue, 2 Jul 2013 20:01:00 +0000 (14:01 -0600)

Add tc rules on demand as new users are encountered on the system.
Fix a buffer overflow that could be causing crashes.

authorDavid
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 21:44:47 +0000 (15:44 -0600)
committerDavid
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 21:44:47 +0000 (15:44 -0600)

Change jail_min_idle default value from 25 to 75.

authorDavid
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 18:07:39 +0000 (12:07 -0600)
committerDavid
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 18:07:39 +0000 (12:07 -0600)

Correctly handle trailing white space on config lines.

IOTHROTTLED

authorAndrea Righi
Thu, 4 Jul 2013 17:14:40 +0000 (19:14 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Thu, 4 Jul 2013 18:00:27 +0000 (20:00 +0200)

Increase the maximum number of supported devices to 4096

authorAndrea Righi
Thu, 4 Jul 2013 16:38:00 +0000 (18:38 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Thu, 4 Jul 2013 16:38:00 +0000 (18:38 +0200)

Do not execute limits sanity checks during configtest
With configtest we just want to check the syntax of the configuration files, so we can just skip the disk sanity checks.

authorJerry James
Wed, 3 Jul 2013 18:23:50 +0000 (12:23 -0600)
committerJerry James
Wed, 3 Jul 2013 18:23:50 +0000 (12:23 -0600)

Print version numbers of the form 1.0.2-1 instead of 1.0.2. Requested by Matt.

authorAndrea Righi
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 23:54:39 +0000 (01:54 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Mon, 1 Jul 2013 23:54:39 +0000 (01:54 +0200)

More accurate disk utilization % evaluation

authorAndrea Righi
Thu, 20 Jun 2013 20:41:56 +0000 (22:41 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Thu, 20 Jun 2013 20:41:56 +0000 (22:41 +0200)

Automatically apply aggressive auto_wakeup if load average is high
Apply auto_wakeup=2 if load average is greater than the number of online cores x2. When load average goes below this threshold, restore the default value.

authorAndrea Righi
Wed, 19 Jun 2013 09:08:09 +0000 (11:08 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Wed, 19 Jun 2013 09:08:29 +0000 (11:08 +0200)

fix: add a missing pclose() introduced in cdbe5aa

authorAndrea Righi
Tue, 18 Jun 2013 22:09:46 +0000 (00:09 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Tue, 18 Jun 2013 22:09:46 +0000 (00:09 +0200)

fix: correctly support long device names
Example: do not consider /dev/sdaa as not a partition of /dev/sda. In presence of many disks /dev/sdaa may appear and it is a main block device, not a partition.

authorAndrea Righi
Mon, 17 Jun 2013 21:42:53 +0000 (23:42 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Mon, 17 Jun 2013 21:42:53 +0000 (23:42 +0200)

auto_scale: avoid to re-apply the same scaling factor multiple times
Reduce some cgroupfs overhead by not rewriting the same global scaling factor value multiiple times.

authorAndrea Righi
Mon, 17 Jun 2013 19:47:21 +0000 (21:47 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Mon, 17 Jun 2013 19:47:21 +0000 (21:47 +0200)

auto_scale: apply auto_scale only when disk utilization is correctly evaluated
Do not apply auto_scale if iothrottled didn't correctly re-evaluate the real disk utilization percentage.

authorAndrea Righi
Fri, 14 Jun 2013 13:43:38 +0000 (15:43 +0200)
committerAndrea Righi
Fri, 14 Jun 2013 13:44:45 +0000 (15:44 +0200)

sanity-checks: do not report a critical errors for non-mounted device
Avoid to report an error if a non-mounted device is specified in the config file.



CPANEL:

MYSQL:

authorWeldon Whipple
Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:32:39 +0000 (11:32 -0600)
committerWeldon Whipple
Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:32:39 +0000 (11:32 -0600)

Modify Jenkins script to build MySQL 5.5.32 instead of 5.5.31

GENERAL:

authorJames Stone
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 23:27:21 +0000 (17:27 -0600)
committerJames Stone
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 23:27:21 +0000 (17:27 -0600)

changed spec file revision

authorJames Stone
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 23:23:35 +0000 (17:23 -0600)
committerJames Stone
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 23:23:35 +0000 (17:23 -0600)

added memory_limit exclude for apache and mysql

authorFred Clift
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 20:46:49 +0000 (14:46 -0600)
committerFred Clift
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 20:46:49 +0000 (14:46 -0600)

rev bump

authorFred Clift
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 20:40:56 +0000 (14:40 -0600)
committerFred Clift
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 20:40:56 +0000 (14:40 -0600)

Merge branch 'master' of ssh://git.betterlinuxtesting.com/git/central/betterlinux-cpanel

authorWeldon Whipple
Mon, 8 Jul 2013 19:48:30 +0000 (13:48 -0600)
committerWeldon Whipple
Mon, 8 Jul 2013 19:48:30 +0000 (13:48 -0600)

Don't delete group when only user in that group has her account modified,
as reported by Whostmgr::Accounts::Modify hook--and that modification
has nothing to do with package/plan changes

authorWeldon Whipple
Wed, 3 Jul 2013 16:52:37 +0000 (10:52 -0600)
committerWeldon Whipple
Wed, 3 Jul 2013 16:52:37 +0000 (10:52 -0600)

Add wait_to_run_again_seconds=30 to default memory_limit line in cpud configuration files

authorFred Clift
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 18:12:29 +0000 (12:12 -0600)
committerFred Clift
Fri, 28 Jun 2013 18:12:29 +0000 (12:12 -0600)

change response on over-memory from log to kill

 



Was this answer helpful?

Add to Favourites Add to Favourites

Print this Article Print this Article

Also Read
1.2.0-1 Release Notes (Views: 1236)
1.1.11-1 Release Notes (Views: 1241)
1.0.4-1 Release Notes (Views: 2029)
1.1.0-2 Release Notes (Views: 1170)
1.1.10-1 Release Notes (Views: 1213)

Copyright © 2011 BetterLinux.com. All rights reserved.