Sales | Support:1-888-96LINUX

1.0.4-1 Release Notes

The 1.0.4-1 release contains the following changes:

Overview

 

WHM Plug-In BetterLinux Manager:

Release inlcludes, and will install on upgrade or fresh install, the BetterLinux Manager plug-in for cPanels WHM. Now you can set BetterLinux group limits via WHM for CPU, I/O, Bandwidth, Memory, time processes can run, and maximum process a user can run. Additionally, from the General tab, all BetterLinux services can be started and stopped. Please send us any feedback on this new feature.

New MySQL versions:

This release includes a BetterLinux version of MySQL 5.1.70

Blstat:

blstat now reads all the data from proc for a more accurate view of what's being throttled. Also made some formatting changes, added a new --help option, and the ability to start blstat with the screen of your choosing by passing the following arguments at the command line.

blstat command line options:

 

--help | -h                   show this usage statement

-i                               start on i/o screen (default)

-c                              start on CPU screen

-n                              start on network connection screen

-b                              start on network bandwidth screen


Kernel version
:

Latest CentOS Kernel 2.6.32-358.18.1.el6

cpud:

Bug fixes, performance improvements, and added an error message that tells the user cpu throttling is not supported on 2 core systems.

Bandwidth Limiting
:

No changes.

iothrottled:

Bug Fixes and a new logging feature set to on by default called log_io_intensive_task. This will log any intensive i/o task that's not part of the BetterLinux i/o throttling rules. Now admins will find it easier to see what else may need to be added to a throttling rule. The log data can be found in /var/log/iothrottled/iothrottled.

Example:

Fri Sep  6 11:34:48 2013 INFO: I/O-intensive task 16931 (fio) uid 0 - I/O wait time 89.42%

 

Upgrade notice for non-cPanel systems:

The upgrade will NOT delete your .conf files if they have been modified. It wll rename them with a .rpmsave exenstion. So after the upgrade you will need to rename them back with a .conf extenstion.

Example upgrade notice at the end:

Cleanup    : betterlinux-1.0.2-3.el6.x86_64                                                                                                             3/3

warning: /etc/betterlinux/iothrottled.conf.d/groups.conf saved as /etc/betterlinux/iothrottled.conf.d/groups.conf.rpmsave

warning: /etc/betterlinux/iothrottled.conf.d/betterlinux-io.conf saved as /etc/betterlinux/iothrottled.conf.d/betterlinux-io.conf.rpmsave

warning: /etc/betterlinux/cpud.conf.d/groups.conf saved as /etc/betterlinux/cpud.conf.d/groups.conf.rpmsave

warning: /etc/betterlinux/cpud.conf.d/betterlinux.conf saved as /etc/betterlinux/cpud.conf.d/betterlinux.conf.rpmsave

 

Changelog for BetterLinux Release 1.0.4-1


CPUD

Author Fred Clift
Wed, 4 Sep 2013 18:57:41 +0000 (12:57 -0600)
Also change makefile install routine for new names

Author David Radford
Fri, 30 Aug 2013 20:34:19 +0000 (14:34 -0600)
Configure approved_accounting_program (rcuid) during cloakfs startup.

Author David Radford
Fri, 30 Aug 2013 16:43:52 +0000 (10:43 -0600)
Change strcpy() calls to strncpy().
Add new file my_str.h
Remove several unused functions.

Author David Radford
Thu, 29 Aug 2013 15:31:50 +0000 (09:31 -0600)
Change all sprintf() calls to snprintf().
Change all strncpy() calls to my_strncpy().
This is to eliminate any buffer overflows that may be caused by sprintf() or strncpy().

Author David Radford
Thu, 29 Aug 2013 15:31:50 +0000 (09:31 -0600)
Change all sprintf() calls to snprintf().
Change all strncpy() calls to my_strncpy().
This is to eliminate any buffer overflows that may be caused by sprintf() or strncpy().

Author David Radford
Fri, 23 Aug 2013 21:35:54 +0000 (15:35 -0600)
Remove "parallel" config file option.  It introduced a bug that will require significant code rework to fix.  It doesn't seem worth the trouble or risk.
This reverts 642ef7c3a86329a525a0ff939474e4f9839cbfa3.

Author David Radford
Fri, 23 Aug 2013 15:29:44 +0000 (09:29 -0600)
Remove unused variable.

Author Andrea Righi
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 22:14:42 +0000 (00:14 +0200)
Init script: make use of /etc/betterlinux/.license.err
betterlinux-licmgr can store the latest error message reported by the license server in /etc/betterlinux/.license.err.
Check if this file contains an error when the license is expired or invalid and show the content to the console when the service is started, stopped or when we check the status.

Author David Radford
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 21:40:54 +0000 (15:40 -0600)
Merge branch 'master' of git.betterlinuxtesting.com:/git/central/cpud

Author David Radford
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 20:26:21 +0000 (14:26 -0600)
Exit in "Must be root to run cpud!" error.
The error was being printed but cpud did not exit.

Author David Radford
Fri, 16 Aug 2013 21:41:17 +0000 (15:41 -0600)
Add "parallel" config file option to turn off parallel data collection and processing.
For testing and debugging purposes only.

Author David Radford
Tue, 13 Aug 2013 20:28:10 +0000 (14:28 -0600)
Remove unused structure fields.

Author Andrea Righi
Wed, 7 Aug 2013 18:12:47 +0000 (20:12 +0200)
cloakfs init script: correctly report the amount of days in token expiry

Author David Radford
Mon, 5 Aug 2013 17:17:55 +0000 (11:17 -0600)
Require 4 cpus in order to run if there are start_throtting rules in the config files.
Require 2 cpus in order to run if there are NO start_throtting rules.

Author David Radford
Thu, 1 Aug 2013 19:56:44 +0000 (13:56 -0600)
Require at least 4 cpus for cpud to run, exit with an error otherwise.
Require 4 cpus in order to run if there are start_throtting rules in the config files.
Require 2 cpus in order to run if there are NO start_throtting rules.
Bug fix: cpud was hanging when run by a non-root user, it now exits with an error like it used to.

Author David Radford
Thu, 1 Aug 2013 17:25:42 +0000 (11:25 -0600)
Committer David Radford
Thu, 1 Aug 2013 17:25:42 +0000 (11:25 -0600)
Fix a potential fatal bug that could occur when parsing /proc/pid/stat or /proc/pid/blstat. The bug could heppen when cpud encountered a program with a space character in the name.
Requires a kernel with blstat-v2.patch

Author David Radford
Wed, 31 Jul 2013 20:39:26 +0000 (14:39 -0600)
Committer David Radford
Wed, 31 Jul 2013 20:39:26 +0000 (14:39 -0600)
Remove debugging printf() from previous version

Author David Radford   
Wed, 31 Jul 2013 19:51:50 +0000 (13:51 -0600)
Use the new /proc/PID/blstat proc entry instead of /proc/PID/stat,
/proc/PID/status and /proc/PID/schedstat.
REQUIRES a kernel with the blstat-v1.patch

Author David Radford    
Fri, 19 Jul 2013 22:14:28 +0000 (16:14 -0600)
Change memory_limit and time_monitor logging to include the script name when operating on an interpreter program like perl.

Author David Radford   
Fri, 19 Jul 2013 19:51:55 +0000 (13:51 -0600)
Add a new log file, cpud_top, that logs the top cpu using processes on the system.
A new config file option, log_top, indicates how many processes to log.
log_top default to 0 which turns of logging to cpud_top.

IOTHROTTLED

Author Fred Clift
Wed, 4 Sep 2013 18:53:12 +0000 (12:53 -0600)
Also fix makefile to install to right name

Author Andrea Righi
Wed, 4 Sep 2013 16:32:27 +0000 (18:32 +0200)
Enable log_io_intensive_tasks by default

Author Andrea Righi
Tue, 3 Sep 2013 22:41:17 +0000 (00:41 +0200)
Introduce log_io_intensive_tasks
Add a new option in iothrottled to report in the log the I/O-intensive tasks that are not assigned to any iothrottled group.
When this option is activated iothrottled reports a message in the log when:
- disk utilization is greater than seek_balancing_method
- a task has a "waiting for I/O" percentage greater than apply_io_throttling_threshold_pct (85% by default)
Example:
Wed Sep  4 00:39:56 2013 INFO: I/O-intensive task 18851 (iozone) running as uid 1001 - I/O wait time 60.65%

Author Andrea Righi
Wed, 21 Aug 2013 13:33:01 +0000 (15:33 +0200)
Fixed memory leaks

Author Andrea Righi
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 21:59:46 +0000 (23:59 +0200)
Filedata: silent unnecessary warning
Do not report an error in the log when a file read with filedata is empty.

Author Andrea Righi
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 09:42:18 +0000 (11:42 +0200)
Fix data corruption error when initializing the list of devices

Author Andrea Righi
Thu, 15 Aug 2013 16:05:19 +0000 (18:05 +0200)
Set remove_stale_groups_time to 60 by default

Author Andrea Righi
Tue, 6 Aug 2013 09:18:51 +0000 (11:18 +0200)
Committer Andrea Righi
Tue, 6 Aug 2013 09:19:15 +0000 (11:19 +0200)
init script: replace license with license token in messages

Author Andrea Righi
Fri, 19 Jul 2013 15:58:13 +0000 (17:58 +0200)
Committer Andrea Righi
fix: correctly reset disk scaling factors upon restart/reload

BETTERLINUX-CPANEL

Author Weldon Whipple
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 17:01:43 +0000 (11:01 -0600)
When last user in default package is eliminated, remove reference to default package from iothrottled's cpanel.conf.

Author Weldon Whipple
Wed, 7 Aug 2013 20:18:54 +0000 (14:18 -0600)
bl-cphooks --init and --package-init options should never create package-specific cpud configuration files for packages with no enrollees.

Author Weldon Whipple
Fri, 19 Jul 2013 23:19:49 +0000 (17:19 -0600)
Committer Weldon Whipple
Rewrite bl-cphooks backup function
BETTERLINUX-LICMGR

Author Jerry  James
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 20:21:53 +0000 (14:21 -0600)
When there is a version mismatcch with cpud or iothrottled, log how to restart the betterlinux-licmgr service in case an old version is still running.
This commit also contains some small (almost trivial) code simplifications, and an update to the autotools files.

Author Andrea Righi
Wed, 21 Aug 2013 22:43:07 +0000 (00:43 +0200)
Committer Andrea Righi
Wed, 21 Aug 2013 23:23:35 +0000 (01:23 +0200)
Improve license key expired / invalid error messages
Moreover, save the last error message returned by the license server to /etc/betterlinux/.license.err, so that other tools, like iothrottled or cpud can show the same message on the console, for example when the service is started or stopped.

Author Andrea Righi
Thu, 8 Aug 2013 16:43:58 +0000 (18:43 +0200)
clear empty kernel parameters
Properly clear kernel parameters that are set to NULL.



Was this answer helpful?

Add to Favourites Add to Favourites

Print this Article Print this Article

Also Read
1.1.14 Release Notes (Views: 1225)
1.0.2-2 Release Notes (Views: 1405)
1.2.6-1 Release Notes (Views: 1004)
1.1.0-1 Release Notes (Views: 1447)
1.2.0-1 Release Notes (Views: 1236)

Copyright © 2011 BetterLinux.com. All rights reserved.